an imaginative look a palaeolithic life

My attempts at flintknapping

Having survived a logistically difficult move 4000 miles to live in the UK again, I’ve been thoroughly enjoying the British countryside and even the weather.  Sub-tropical heat and humidity does not suit me at all.   I blame neanderthal genes; I clearly have cold-adapted body proportions and feel much more alive in cold weather.  But one of the highlights of returning to the UK is the fact that I’ve found quite a lot of flint.

My family all think I’m crazy because while the rest of the family were paddling in the sea and/or building sandcastles when we went to the beach in August, I was making like a Homo ergaster and bashing up bits of flint, trying to shape them into tools.

My first successful stone tool was this one, which I think just about qualifies as an Oldowan style chopper although Australopithecus sediba might have something to say about it.  But I think it would cut through meat although I haven’t tried it yet.  The competitive streak in me wants to know how well it compares to the tools made by Kanzi the bonobo.  I want to know if it’s good enough for me to keep my human card.

2014-08-30 17.48.062014-08-30 17.48.10

I got a bit more ambitious with this one (which is by far not my 2nd attempt – I have several failed ones that I’m not posting on this blog) where I was trying to get the general shape of a hand axe.  I think I succeeded in that, albeit that it’s not as pretty as the Acheulean hand axes I’ve seen.

2014-08-30 17.46.162014-08-30 17.47.27

I got the last laugh regarding my family thinking I’m insane for taking lumps of flint and my rather feeble attempts at stone tool making into my house, because in the chaos of moving, I couldn’t find any scissors.  I needed to remove one of those plastic tag things from something I’d bought and it was too thick to break with my fingers, so I needed something to cut it with.  While looking for them, I found my hand axe, and thought I’d use that instead.  and found it worked really well.   It was easier to use than scissors on that kind of tag, and would have given a craft knife a run for its money.  Since then, I’ve used it for other plastic tags.  It’s now my tool of choice for that, and has also been used to cut through cardboard and other kinds of packaging.  It’s quite interesting that such an ancient technology – dating back to the lower palaeolithic era – can be useful even in this day and age.

2 responses

  1. Gorman Ghaste

    Obsidian scalpels are still a thing!

    October 25, 2014 at 22:38

  2. Cracker1

    Did you ever think that there was one guy (or more, I guess) that said, “To hell with spending two weeks looking for the perfect scrapper rock, I am going to make one!”

    June 8, 2015 at 23:16

Share your opinion on this post

